3-PRODUCT REVIEW: Michel Mercier Detangling Brush, SheaMoisture Kids and Aveeno Shampoo and Conditioner

There’s a reason I call myself The Sagacious Natural; I have tried more hair care products than I like to admit. People often come to me and ask if I’ve tried a product they’re considering because nine times out of ten, I have! I don’t like to get too comfortable with a product, because I always feel like there’s something that could be just a little bit better out there.

ANYWAY, my discontent has served to your benefit this time.

These are the products I reviewed and the links (in green) to buy them from Walmart.com:

  1. Michel Mercier Detangling Brush for Thick Hair
  2. SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Kids Curling Butter Cream and Extra-Moisturizing Detangler
  3. Aveeno Nourish + Moisturize Shampoo and Conditioner

First of all, let me say, these products are most definitely listed in order of importance!

The Michel Mercier Detangling Brush for Thick Hair totally works!

I’m sure most of you have probably seen this brush on TV like I did… I honestly did not believe that the uneven bristles were going to detangle my thick curls as easily and as painlessly as the commercials depicted, but I was proven wrong! Those commercials aren’t fronting, this brush is the real deal. For $15 I was not disappointed at all, and Michel Mercier owes me nothing! He showed out with that brush, so if detangling your hair is a full project like mine, get this brush now! 

I also liked the SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Kids Curling Butter Cream and Extra-Moisturizing Detangler!

Now, before you judge me for using a product that is marketed toward children, let me tell you that I have used many “kids” products that worked better for me than some non-kids products. Kids, shmids.

I liked the way this product defined my curls. I sprayed my hair with the detangler (then detangled it with that heaven-sent brush) and then I applied the butter cream. I flipped my hair upside down and dried it with the diffuser attachment on my blow-drier. My curls are shiny and bouncy and soft and defined, all at once! Plus, the detangler and butter creme contain marshmallow extracts, so I smell like some delightfully sweet pastry… I like it!

Last, and least, the Aveeno Shampoo and Conditioner… I was not impressed! I didn’t even know Aveeno did hair care, so I had high hopes considering how much I love their skin care products. This felt like any other shampoo… Stick to what you know. This one is not worth the switch!

Hope this helps! Keep those curls healthy!

Leave a Reply

