Flexi Rod How-To

For weeks now, I’ve been promising my readers a flexi rod set. And for weeks, I’ve been putting it off. With Troy University’s Homecoming being tomorrow, I figured, what better time than now to make good on my promise.

So here it is! Now, you may be disappointed because my hair was not dry in time enough for me to post pictures of my result. I will do so as soon as my hair is dry. This post should, however, give you a good idea of how I treated my hair in order to achieve my yet-to-be-seen results.

Snapshot_20151016_1

This is the look of a girl who is unhappy with the current state of her natural curls. Let’s fix that!

20151016_094353

I washed my hair with Luxurious Moroccan Argan Creme Shampoo by OGX. After that, I detangled my hair and deep conditioned for about 20 minutes with a mixture of Hydrating CoWash Conditioning Cleanser by My DNA and Organic Virgin Coconut Oil from Spectrum.

Snapshot_20151016_9

I rinsed my hair thoroughly, and then I sectioned my hair off to be rodded. I only had one 10-pack of flexi rods, and I thought I may have needed more. Ten was the perfect number of rods. Any more of those 10″x13/16″ rods would have been too many.

I used a stiff bristled brush to smooth my hair before using the rods. Starting from the roots, I pulled the brush down in one pull, and then…

Snapshot_20151016_12

I carefully placed the rod on the underside of the hair I had just brushed smooth. Making sure to keep the hair pulled taught, I wrapped the hair around the rod. Every now and then I would use the brush to smooth the hair that was not yet wrapped.

20151016_113754

Once I had the hair wrapped around to the end of the rod, I carefully bent each end, making sure to bend it in the direction that keeps the hair pulled tightest. Of course, you don’t want it too tight, but tight enough to keep the hair smooth.

I’ll be back with results when it dries!

Leave a Reply

